Nigeria is a country located in West Africa. The official name of the country is the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The country has a population of 188,462,640 people, making it the 7th most populous country in the world. In terms of area, it is the 32nd largest country at 356,669 square miles. The country is a federal presidential republic with a president and vice president. The capital city is Abuja. However, the largest city is Lagos. The official currency is the Naira. Nigeria's flag features three vertical stripes: two green stripes on each end and one white stripe in the middle.

The city of Abuja was built in the 1980s and eventually replaced Lagos as the capital.

Nigeria’s Third Mainland Bridge is the largest bridge in Africa.

. Nigeria is the 12th largest producer of crude oil, pushing out over 2.5 million barrels per day.

Approximately 70% of Nigerians work in the agriculture industry.

The country’s cash crops include cocoa, wheat, peanuts, and cotton.

Nigeria is divided into 36 states.

The drill monkey is native to Nigeria, and it is only found in one other country – Cameroon.

The richest man in Africa, Aliko Dangote, resides in Nigeria. He is worth an estimated $12 billion.

Source: Nation Facts